the body shop

A long, long while back I wrote a post about the Leaping Bunny program.

Last Monday, I spent the afternoon in search of new hair care products and makeup. I used the Leaping Bunny App on my phone to help me. It was so useful!

I set my sights on Ulta thinking they’d have a lot of products on the list but I didn’t find much so I headed on over to The Body Shop. I saw on the App that The Body Shop was listed under every category of product that I needed!

On my way over I was optimistic that I was going to find my new one stop shop for beauty and skin care products.

I totally did and then some.

At The Body Shop I found not only a friendly sales person but a girl who was genuinely excited about the product and the core beliefs of the company. I may be way behind on the times but I had no idea that The Body Shop was so focused on helping others. Such a breath of fresh air!

A quote from the founder:

“The business of business should not just be about money, it should be able responsibility. It should be about public good, not private green.”
-Dame Anita Roddick. Human Rights Activist. Founder of The Body Shop (sourced from the ‘Our Company’ page)

Not only is the company against animal testing which I’m all about but it has four other core values that are just as great: Support Community Trade, Defend Human Rights, Activate Self-Esteem, and Protect Our Planet.

I love it.

Like me, you’re probably very tired of politics so I’ll leave it at that and move on to the awesome product!

I wanted to buy everything I laid my eyes on but Al would have killed me so I picked up only what I needed which was shampoo, conditioner, and eye shadow.

With my degrees in graphic design, I’m all about the look of the product! If it looks nice, I want it. A good example of this is wine. Doesn’t everyone buy the bottle just because it’s pretty or is it just me? ๐Ÿ™‚

The packaging at The Body Shopย is clean and pretty. It’s not too busy and focuses on explaining the product well.

Technically I have a lot of hair but it’s also thin so I went with the volumizing shampoo and conditioner. So far my hair really does seem a lot thicker. It also isn’t weighed down and greasy which often happens with other products that I’ve tried.

Both have nice, floral scents that I totally want as a perfume. Course they may have it! Next time.

I’ve only used the eye shadows once but they were super smooth and therefore easy to apply. The shimmer looks a bit strong in the case but it’s subtle on the skin.

After realizing that I loved the store and didn’t want to leave, I joined the rewards program. You get 10% off all your purchases, coupons when your points build up, free shipping online, and a couple of other perks too.

I promise, The Body Shop has no idea that I’ve written this post! I just had to share my positive experience with you.

Do you have a favorite store or beauty product?

14 comments on “the body shop

  1. I Totally buy bottles of wine (and shampoo) because they’re pretty!!!! haha those packages get me every time ๐Ÿ˜‰ Kroger just started carrying this new kind of wine called Oh-La-La and it’s seriously the most adorable packaging ever!

  2. elisariva says:

    I have been using Aveda for my hair for ten years now. Natural ingredients and convenient, my salon sells it. I will check out Body Shop for make up. I haven’t been there in years. Thanks for the post!

  3. Shannon says:

    I would never think of The Body Shop for makeup. I will have to check it out. I buy my hair products from my salon, Pureology Shampoo & Conditioner (sulfate and paraben free!) and CIBU for styling products

    • Adrienne says:

      Yeah, they have a good amount on the back wall of the store! Pureology is a super nice brand. It’s a treat to get my hair done at the salon because they use it. Ha.

  4. Erica says:

    I’ve never tried any products from the Body Shop, but I’ve always wanted too. Gotta love an animal friendly brand. I wish I had a store near me. I’ve got to check them out online.

  5. I used to live walking distance from a Body Shop – bought a lot of shea butter cream and shower gels.
    You may also want to check out Korres products – not sure if they’re bunny-approved, but my guess is that they are.

  6. Little Sis says:

    I’ve always liked their stuff, but honestly am a little glad that I don’t have one nearby at the moment. It would be very easy to become a regular. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. reemsyed says:

    Hello!
    I read your post โ€“ its fantastic to know someone shares my passion for Body Shop and their products! I thought I was the only one!

    I totally know what you mean by when you wanted to buy everything! Actually, I\โ€™m not quite that old so my mom still pays for me but unfortunately, she thinks body shop items are really a waste

    I still have quite a few from friends and siblings when they decide to be generous. In fact, I actually write a blog about beauty products! If you\โ€™re into it, please do check it out ninemintmacaroons.wordpress.com

    Fantastic post! Pleasure reading it

    PS Body Shop shampoos aren\โ€™t harmful are they? I haven\โ€™t used them ever so I would like to know

    • Adrienne says:

      If only more people knew about the store! They’re missing out.

      I’d think the shampoos aren’t harmful since most of their products are made with very natural ingredients. Check out the website, they have the list there!

comments, questions

