zucchini chocolate chip muffins

This marathon training is making me eat carbs. It’s either making me because I’m craving them all the time or I’m just using the training as a super good excuse to scarf down anything with flour in it. Case in point: 12 mile run on Sunday = one stack of sweet potato pancakes. 🙂 Yum.

I’ve even been told from my Sports Backers coaches that you really are supposed to eat pasta-like dishes before your long runs so really, it’s a requirement.

Because of this, I went on a carb recipe hunt on Monday. I wanted a quick snack that I could take with me when I’m out and about. That way I won’t be tempted to buy unhealthy eats when I’m grocery shopping and whatnot.

I searched my regular food blogs and found Mama’s Peas recipe for Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins. Muffins with chocolate and hidden veggies sounded awesome to me!

To make you’re life easier, I thought I’d post the recipe here instead of just the link like I usually do. I’ll try and do this from now on.

Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins
(source)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 c. canola oil
  • 1/4 c. applesauce
  • 2/3 c. organic sugar (I used half Nu Naturals Stevia Baking Blend)
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1 c. grated zucchini
  • 1/2 c. dark chocolate chips

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin tin with muffin papers.
  • Combine zucchini, oil, applesauce and sugar in a medium bowl.
  • Combine remaining dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until just mixed.
  • Spoon batter into muffin cups until they are about 2/3rds of the way full.
  • Bake for 20-22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

I’m shocked to say that we still have some left!  It helps that I put them on top of the fridge where we don’t usually keep snacks.

Also, it’s Thursday and they’re still super gooey and delicious! Mama Pea never steers me wrong.

I’ve already eaten these babies for breakfast, lunch, and dessert. I plan on making two batches next time! I was also thinking of substituting some of the zucchini for carrots just to try something new. That sounds like a tolerable substitute, right Elisa?? 🙂

What are you baking this week? A snack or maybe an awesome dessert?

3 comments on “zucchini chocolate chip muffins

  1. amanda says:

    Yay for hidden veggies! I will definitely try this one. Do you think it would good without the chocolate chips?

  2. They look absolutely delicious! I would so love to try some. I am sure they taste amazing.

comments, questions

