agility with the girls

If I could spend most of my days learning something new, I’d be so very happy.  It’s such a great feeling to overcome that first bump in the road, the point at which you start to improve.

A couple of people at work have taken their dogs to classes at the Richmond SPCA.  I decided to copy them for a couple of reasons: the combination of learning something new not just by myself but with Al and the dogs and also being able to support a non-profit, no-kill shelter.  A win for us, a win for the animals at the shelter!

Yesterday, we had our second agility class (of seven).  We never really had that first bump in the learning curve.  I think it was only getting over my fear of failure!  I was afraid we wouldn’t be able to handle the girls and that they’d be crazy but so far so good!

The girls will do anything for treats which helps a ton.  Olivia rarely sits still on a leash but she will (somewhat) for some food!

Look how thrilled Al is to be at the class.  He sure does love his treat holder/fanny pack.  Haha.

I promise the man does love the class, especially since Roary is one of the best there!  #truth

The girls have already successfully done about five obstacles and it’s only the second class which I find amazing.  It’s so fun to watch them understand want we want and execute it.  It also gives Al and I a bit more confidence in our handling abilities which is just what I wanted.

Look at Roary go!  The girl loves herself some cheese balls.

There is a fee for the classes but I think it’s so worth it.  It’s nice to know we can support the shelter while spending good, quality time together.  I can’t think of a better way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Have you taken your dogs to classes?

8 comments on “agility with the girls

  1. Bahhhh they are so cute!!!! Al looks so happy 😉 haha

  2. Nicole says:

    Adorable! I took Kostas to a “puppy” training class at the Humane Society (where I adopted him). He was already 1 yr old so he was the oldest puppy. And the biggest. During the 3rd class, the instructor called him a “big cow”. We decided to “drop out” of the class.
    That and there was a lady who would wear a purse around her neck and have it filled with treats for her dog. The 2 labs in the class (Kostas and a small black lab) figured this out–and they were always jumping up to her or jumping on her lap!

  3. Erica says:

    Wow, agility! It looks like so much fun! I tried flyball with my pup Patrick for awhile because he is OBSESSED with tennis balls.

    P.S. Isn’t if funny how the pups will give you their undivided attention when you’ve got on that stylish fanny treat pack… lol!

    • Adrienne says:

      How was the flyball I bet that’s a good workout! Yes, we’re stylin’. 🙂

      • Erica says:

        We had a lot of fun in flyball. I’ve never screamed and yelled so much in my life… lol. What we don’t do to get those pups’ attention. It was pretty exciting. I wish we could have stuck with it, but we just ended up not having the time to make all the practices. Now we play fetch all day in the backyard.. Paddy doesn’t seem to care what we do as long as there is a tennis ball involved… 🙂

      • Adrienne says:

        🙂 I love it. Sticks are the toy of choice when playing fetch at this house.

comments, questions

