career change update

It’s been almost 6 months since I changed my job, my career, my mission. Well I guess I changed my mission when I started planning this blog last year but the complete conversion happened in February when I quit my old job as a designer.

So I started to not really like my last job at 6 months but at this new job, it’s a different story. I’m currently a Veterinary Assistant and I get to help animals all day long. It’s rewarding to say the least.

The doctors have already found homes for 14 kittens (from the Goochland Animal Shelter) this spring! There’s 2 more left if anybody wants one. 🙂

Don’t get me wrong, some days I get tired of washing windows, sweeping floors, and getting beat up by crabby cats BUT it’s all worth it. Like my blog title says, I get to ‘help someone or something in need’.

My little lady, Belle when she was sick with Pneumonia. She’s all better now!

This past Saturday I had to work. I spent 2.5 out of the 4 hour workday standing next to the operating table with a 17 year old cat in possible heart failure. I had to monitor her vitals while keeping the oxygen flowing at her face to help with her crazy rapid breathing. Along with the medical aspect, I also made sure she was as comfortable as she could be. I stroked her soft fur and let her know she wasn’t alone. She was too weak to move much but I could hear her purring away.

They planned on taking her to the emergency (24 hour) vet clinic once we closed at 12. I won’t know until I get to work today if she survived or not but I’m so glad I got to help and comfort her for those few hours.

That cat is just one of the many reasons I know that my leap of faith was a good one.

Oh and have you ever watched a knee surgery on a goat? Freakin’ awesome.

Are you at your ideal job?

P.S. My Etsy shop? I’ve moved the opening date to Labor Day weekend. I got a bit overwhelmed this month for sure!! I’ve got some good pieces done though! I can’t wait to get the shop open.

16 comments on “career change update

  1. You’re doing amazing work!

  2. amanda says:

    I’m so happy that you are happy! Sounds like challenging and rewarding work 🙂

  3. Shannon says:

    I agree that it is so important to be happy doing what you do to pay the bills. It is inspiring to see how you took the risk to make a change and are that much happier for it.

  4. cloudoflace says:

    Really so nice of you to do such amazing things 🙂 wish there are more people like you!!

    Hiba
    http://www.cloudoflace.com

  5. I’m so glad you’re liking your job 🙂 I’m sure you’re fantastic at it!

    It was so fun seeing you yesterday! We need to do things like that more often!

  6. Amy says:

    Congratulations on your career change! It sounds like you are exactly where you need to be! And that goat is too cute (I never thought I’d hear myself say that…)

  7. angelika says:

    Definitely NOT doing my dream job. I always wanted to be a veternarian, but got a liberal arts/business degree instead as I didn’t think I could face putting animals to sleep. Sigh. Epic career planning fail on my part.

    I love the picture of that goat. I got to bottle feed some baby goats last fall and it was one of the highlights of my animal-loving life!

    • Adrienne says:

      My husband decided not to be a Vet for the same reason. It’s definitely a tough part of the job. We had a baby goat in a couple weeks ago! They really do sound like ‘kids’ when they make noises. Do lots of volunteering with animals! That helped me when I was at my old job.

  8. elisariva says:

    You truly are following your passion! As I read I couldn’t help by pet my 17 year old cat who is in my lap. All 18 pounds of him. So glad you love what you do!

comments, questions

