crisp, clean fireplace

Paint is the bomb. It has taken our den from night to day. It feels more inviting, cozy, and MUCH brighter.

Let’s go back to the beginning for a nice, dramatic before and after.

Here’s what the fireplace and den looked like before the sellers moved out and we moved in.

The first thing I did to update the space was spray paint the fireplace cover to get rid of the gold.

Then we painted the paneling a green which gave the room a big boost of light.

Our most recent step was to paint the massive brick wall.

We started off by vacuuming the brick to remove any dirt and dust. Then we primed it with two coats of Multi Purpose Latex Primer from Valspar. Followed by two coats of eggshell white latex paint. Al also used caulking to fill in the many gaps and holes between the brick, paneling, and trim.

Oh and after we realized the soot around the edge of the fireplace was bleeding through, we painted over those spots with some Valspar High Hiding Primer.

Then the fireplace was complete!

So pretty.

This final step took a while – three weeks. Mostly because after the first weekend I didn’t feel like painting anymore and moved on to other projects so Al finished it up for us me. So when I mention ‘we’ throughout this post I really mean just Al. 🙂

I have proof that I did other stuff though! You’ll see it all in the next week or so.

P.S. I know I have the same exact mirror on the other fireplace right now. I just love them! Last year I found the pair at Marshalls for $12 each then spray painted them yellow.

This little piggy bank is the cutest. The bright colors are awesome. I hope to bring some of them up onto the mantel to balance it out.

Now all we have to do in this room is paint the door (I’m thinking a fun color) AND put down bamboo flooring. <- only the biggest job we will attempt yet.

Sheesh. This reno stuff is tiring but now that we see some major progress we’re feeling the motivation. Al is super proud of his fancy white fireplace and I am too!

Did you enter the giveaway yet? You should!

11 comments on “crisp, clean fireplace

  1. amanda says:

    LOVE IT! Are you planning a trip to Florida this year?

  2. That piggy is so cute!!! haha

    I’m sad we couldn’t meet up for a DIY night this weekend. Maybe sometime this week?? I hope things are going well!!

  3. Shannon says:

    It really is amazing what a few coats of paint can do to a room. It looks amazing!

  4. Katie says:

    It looks great! You guys are doing a great job!

  5. Adrienne says:

    Thanks pal! 🙂

  6. Little Sis says:

    It looks really great! Congrats!

  7. Mom says:

    Great job Al! and you too!

comments, questions

