volunteering – day 5

I’m back to volunteering and it feels so good.

Saturday I started out my day by heading to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden. The photo above is one of the many awesome greenhouses on campus. As you know I have my own but it sure doesn’t look like these here!

They have almost an acre of gardens that produce vegetables for FeedMore’s Community Kitchen. This year they hope to produce 10,000 pounds of crop. Last year they only missed the mark by about 80 pounds!

The garden depends heavily on volunteers to help with all tasks from tilling the land to harvesting at the end of the season. I enjoy gardening at my own house so I thought I’d help out.

We spent the morning moving through various tasks. The first thing we did was check squash plants for squash bug eggs. It’s a tedious but necessary task that helps prevent the bugs from killing the plants. To get rid of the eggs, we snapped off any leaves that held the tiny, copper-colored eggs. Pretty easy to do and rewarding.

The next thing we did was plant tomatoes. Many plants are grown from seed but others are often donated like the ones we dealt with. We planted about 30 plants in a very short amount of time. It’s amazing how much you can achieve with a good amount of volunteers!

After planting another 20 or so tomato plants, our last task was to do some weeding in the wheelchair accessible beds. Yet another task that seemed to go quickly. Did I mention that I love weeding? Not normal. 🙂

I really enjoyed the morning – talking to the other volunteers and learning a little from the head gardener all while helping the community. I hope to visit again soon. It’ll be fun to see the results of our work!

Are you volunteering this summer?

10 comments on “volunteering – day 5

  1. What a cool place to volunteer! I didn’t know they had opportunities like this!

    Would you want to guest post about this on the Virginia Bloggers site? This would be a great topic!!

  2. mom says:

    Weeding must run in our jeans because I find it very rewarding as well!

  3. fostrickson says:

    I do not enjoy weeding. I spent the day weeding my garden yesterday and already they’re coming back! Wish I could find something I liked about that part!

  4. Dad says:

    It’s good to see that my kids turned out to better persons than me–I consider that a successful life.

  5. This is such a gorgeous blog! I love it and on my new blog about living more green, volunteering, and more, I have included this delightful blog of yours in my Blogroll of great WordPress places to visit. Hope that’s ok with you. Keep up the great blogging! Signed, a fan over at http://peopleexcitedaboutcoexistence.com/ Cheers! Gina

comments, questions

