fireplace numero dos

I wanted to get a good amount of projects done over this long weekend and we sure did. We worked on the mailbox, vegetable garden, decor and lighting but what I didn’t do was paint the big wall o’ brick in the den. Instead I avoided it and moved onto our other fireplace in the living room.

I’ve got to tell a little back story of the fireplace and built-ins because I think the previous owner would be excited. The shelving you see in the photo below are antique display cases from a beauty salon (early 1900s) and the mantel is also antique although I don’t know where it’s from. The lady’s husband told me she just found those pieces and built out the entire fireplace herself! Maybe she had help but from the looks of her elaborate greenhouse, I’d like to believe she did it alone. Super impressive.

I do appreciate the backstory but I thought the look needed an upgrade. A little paint perhaps?

I decided to paint the surrounding wall of the fireplace as well as the back of the shelving to give the fireplace and all my glassware a little boost.

I had a can of gray/blue paint so I went for it… at three o’clock this afternoon. I had a strong desire to get just oooone last project in!

The sun was setting so it’s tough to see the gray behind the shelves but with a little help from my sister I got this baby done in just a few hours.

I love the contrast of the crisp white and gray. I already feel like the gray has always been there. It just fits so well!

Do you see that big rock on the fireplace? I found it on a trip to a rock quarry in NJ when I was in middle school. I flew with it on the plane back home to FL. BTW it’s SUPER heavy. Ha. I may or may not still have a rock collection somewhere in this house.

Back to the main topic. You can see a similar gray in the carpet. Matchy but not too matchy.

My things would get lost in our house before when there wasn’t any personality but now they shine – one of my paintings, a bell from my grandma’s collection, sand dollars fossils from Lily Lake (FL), and a tiny brown elephant I got from the grab bag one Christmas in NJ.

It’s starting to feel more like home. Well, specifically it looks like the home of a single person! I need to get Al’s tchotchkes out of hiding. 🙂

Did you tackle any projects this weekend? Or did you soak up some sun instead? It was a beautiful weekend!

9 comments on “fireplace numero dos

  1. I had a ton of motivation this long weekend. I got so much accomplished!

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  2. Adrienne, that looks AMAZING!!! I’m so impressed!

  3. Looks great!
    I did both–sun and then laundry, baking, cleaning!

  4. mom says:

    You (and your sister) did a great job!

comments, questions

