my veggie garden

Not to be confused with my greenhouse garden.

Speaking of my greenhouse, I’ve been having a little trouble with it. There are two issues: 1. That there is too much shade and therefore not enough sunlight and 2. I might have watered the veggies too frequently.

The overwatering has resulted in yellowing bottom leaves and gnats galore. I’ve somewhat fixed the problem by being really stingy with watering. If I feel any moisture in the first two inches of soil then I leave the plants alone. Since doing this, I’ve gone up to 5 days without watering! I have to remember that the plants are in a greenhouse in pots so they don’t need much. So far so good now that I’ve changed my ways.

As for the sun problem, I did a couple things. First, I cut back a couple of pine tree branches to let in a little bit more light.

I also bought a GlowPanel 45 LED Grow Light that covers 5 square feet. Even though it was pricey, I figure it’s a lot cheaper and ‘greener’ than buying vegetables that I have traveled across the country to my plate! It also only uses 28 watts of power but produces 250 watts of sunny light. Super cool. I wish I could tell you that it works great but I got it out of the packaging yesterday and it wouldn’t turn on! Hopefully, once I get a new one, I’ll be posting about giant tomatoes and peppers.

The last and final thing I did to try and combat the shade was to move some of the plants to a spot outside that gets more light. To the right of our side entrance we had a huge mess of weeds and plants so I thought it’d be a good location.

The week before I started my solo work, my sister and I uprooted all the weeds and transplanted the plants in the foreground of the photo (that need mulch!) from the area in the back. Because this was already done, I was able to start tilling the soil right away using a hoe.

Can I just say that I feel quite silly using these gardening/farming terms? Especially when one reminds me of my love for Ludacris.  Does that explain a lot? I hope not, ha. Please keep reading!

Anyways, tilling is tiring!! I had to stop ever couple minutes to take a breather and rest my weary arms.

After I was fiiiinally finished, I mixed in my new top soil with the existing soil per the instructions on the bag. I then dug out little trenches to help water filter out. I don’t even know if I was supposed to do that part but it’s what I always see online.

I laid out my 2 feet long bamboo sticks to space out where I wanted to plant my veggies – every 3 feet for tomatoes and squash and every 2 feet for the peppers.

Then I carefully dug the plants out of their pots and planted them next to their poles.

And tied them to the poles using twist ties. I know they aren’t very tall but I figured a little support this early wouldn’t hurt.

I’m still a bit worried about the amount of sun these plants will be getting too. I know they should be getting at least 8 which they aren’t BUT I’ve got nothing to lose!

I wish there was someone that could come over and just tell me what to do with everything but hey, it’s an experiment! This gardening stuff is fun and if I get a couple tomatoes at the end of the July it’ll be icing on the cake pasta sauce on the spaghetti!

Are you taking any risks in your yard? Any new plants?

2 comments on “my veggie garden

  1. That’s so awesome! I wish I had a yard 😦 haha. I do have a community garden plot at work, but it would be nice to have it in my backyard!!

comments, questions

