the den paneling

We spend most of our time in one room of the house, the den. This is mainly because it’s where the couch is and the other rooms aren’t completely furnished yet.

He’s what the room, in all its brown glory, looked like before we bought the house and moved in.

I thought we should update it first since it’s used so much! I fixed up the fireplace a tad already which you can see here, but there’s still a lot to do.

You can see from the photo above that there’s a good amount of sun that comes into the room but because of the dark paneling and brick fireplace, the room was sooooo dark all the time. And with it’s very yellow, very 70’s ceiling light, I couldn’t spend even an hour in there without getting lazy sleepy. I knew we’d have to paint all the walls and lighten it up.

We started with the paneling.

Wait, actually we started with finding a rug to base the whole room off of. A couple months ago we bought a couple of used, floor model rugs from a furniture store which are working out great in the house (we steam cleaned them) but this time we went for a new one.

Supposedly it’s an indoor/outdoor rug so we can easily wash it outside if the dogs track in mud. BIG plus.

It has a large floral patten with lots of shades of green and pink. I wanted a light color to help make the room bright but knew that a light pink wouldn’t work – it’s reminds me of the 90’s and my husband wouldn’t have it, so I went with a very light green.

To start, we wiped down the walls and trim, then applied one coat of Olympic brand low-VOC primer.

Then we finished off the walls with two coats of the green paint and the trim with three coats of Olympic white low-VOC. The brown trim was harder to cover than the walls so we (my husband) even had to use a no-bleed paint for the windowsills which equals four coats!

Now that’s it’s finally done, we are super happy with the results! I can’t wait to tackle the rest of the fireplace. We plan to cover it up in white paint to lighten up the room even more.

The only thing we have hanging is this clock! I hope to put up some art to bring out more colors in the rug and make the whole room more cohesive.

Here’s a look at the brick and door against the pretty, green paneling. Just imagine that it’s a crisp white!

Without a garage or basement we decided to hang our bikes up down in the den. I guess I do have a bit more ‘art’ hanging!

Here’s a better view of the wall color, rug, and dog bed to match… of course.

We’ve got a long way to go but I’m glad we’ve made some progress! It’ll be interesting to see how the whole room evolves.
I want it to feel warm and inviting. So far so good.

What spring project are you in the midst of right now? I’ve got too many to count!

8 comments on “the den paneling

  1. Oh my gosh, Adrienne, I can already see how much lighter and brighter it is! (Why did people in the 70’s think that the “cave effect” was the way to go?!) Seriously though, it’s looking great!!! I can’t wait to see what you do next πŸ™‚

    Are you going to the Food Truck Derby on Sunday??

  2. Micha says:

    It’s amazing what a little (ok, a lot) of paint can do! πŸ™‚

  3. amp says:

    It was SO bad before and now it’s amazing! Once you get that brick taken care of you will be all set πŸ™‚ You are such a talent! Have I told you lately that we need to live closer to each other?

  4. elisariva says:

    Very cool! I like what you have done. The bikes add a certain flair too!

comments, questions

