no place like home

I’ve always lived for the next event – a vacation, holiday, birthday, or often just the weekend. Sometimes I get so caught up in the future that I don’t even remember what I did that day or week. It creeps me out sometimes actually.

Where I’m going with this is a little example of this post that I recently wrote. I’m still using the ‘believe’ mantra and it works great but vacation threw me off a bit.

We had an AH-mazing time in Australia (you’ll see more pictures soon) but the second we started traveling I missed my dogs. I then thought more about it and realized I missed not only the dogs but the family all together and our regular routine. This thinking is quite different from me normally focusing on those future events.

I missed my daily, regular life which is good since that’s what life mainly consists of!

I believe this means that the whole ‘living in the present’ thing is working. I’m enjoying the simple things in life. Like this past weekend I enjoyed fixing up the house, going for walks, and watching the dogs play. It’s such a nice feeling to be aware and take it all in.

The jet lag is almost gone and the routine is almost back to normal.

It’s good to be home.

Are you a homebody? I think I might be!

 

6 comments on “no place like home

  1. amp says:

    Yes, I am. To the point where I don’t think about what I’m going to do because I don’t want to go anywhere. Of course, for me, anywhere I would go is far away. I might have the opposite problem 🙂

  2. You’re home!!!!!!!! YAY!!!!! I’m glad you had a good trip 🙂 I can’t wait to see pictures!

    Are you free Wednesday night?? I think we’re going to do a happy hour!

  3. elisariva says:

    Happy to hear you had a fun time! You express it well, sometimes we have to venture out to appreciate what we sometimes take for granted on a daily basis. Home truly is where the heart (and wet nose) is!

comments, questions

