yummy: restaurant salsa

Have you ever had jet lag?

Every single day this week I’ve thought to myself ‘Man, I must need to exercise or eat better today because I’m sooo tired!’. Then, I remember that I just flew halfway around the world and realize that my body probably hasn’t recovered yet. There’s a 13 hour time difference from Brisbane, Australia to the East coast. Ca-razy.

Last week I wrote about making easy, healthy dinner salads when I’m feeling too tired to cook but you know what? That went out the window this week. After getting home from work, I’d just sit on the couch and attempt to not fall asleep. We could easily have turned to unhealthy take-out and pizza but we didn’t! We just made some semi-homemade dinners.

For one of the nights I turned to Roberta’s pen pal box for help. There was a seasoning packet for a salsa mix. All I needed was a couple fresh vegetables and a blender. I could handle that.

I opened the can of tomatoes, chopped up the veggies, and then opened this bag of chips. It was hard work. πŸ˜‰

Note that I didn’t include the seeds of the the jalapeno since most of the spice comes from them. My husband and I love spicy food but we got scared!

Then, we lazily sampled straight from the blender. It’s super good with the consistency and taste of Mexican restaurant salsa.

And then I found the strength and sanity to transfer it all to a dish so that we could veg out and watch TV. I wouldn’t really call this a dinner but it did it’s job – giving us some micronutrients while keeping us from scarfing a pizza.

I’d pat myself on the back but I’m just too tired. πŸ™‚

———-

This is random but these pretty flowers just bloomed in my yard and I was wondering if anyone could tell me what they are?!

This guy is on a thin little vine.

And this gorgeous guy just popped out of the ground one day from bulbs!

Such a pleasant surprise. Let me know if you have any ideas!

8 comments on “yummy: restaurant salsa

  1. biggsis says:

    Hey there! The pink one is a peony – and the white may be as well, just not a variety I am aware of. Aren’t they gorgeous? They are perennials and like sun. The roots can be dug up and divided for spreading the joy once they get established. What a lovely surprise for you!

    • Adrienne says:

      Oh thank you!! I knew I’d seen them before in magazines and whatnot but never in person! I have 5 big groupings of them. I’m glad to know I can spread them even more. So pretty.

  2. biggsis says:

    Also wanted to let you know that Little Sis and I (my sister’s pantry) have nominated you for a Liebster award. You can see the details at this post:
    http://mysister's pantry.wordpress.com
    Thanks for sharing your adventures on your blog!

  3. Hahaha Lindsay was just telling me yesterday about how you love chips and salsa (because I do TOO!!!!) and this is just in time for Cindo de Mayo! haha

    My friend Eric came over last night and made enchiladas and they were deeeeelicious! They were consumed with lots of chips and salsa, of course.

    • Adrienne says:

      Haha!! Aaaand I must admit that I went out for Mexican at lunch today. πŸ™‚

      I really need to make more at home. All I do is tacos! Oh and chips and salsa. Ha.

  4. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

comments, questions

