yummy: dinner salad

It’s tough for my husband and I to stay on track with healthy eating during the week. Sometimes life gets in the way and we’re just too tired to cook. Lately, I’ve been turning to super easy salads to get in some veggies when we’re desperate and debating on ordering pizza.

The excuse that I use frequently ‘I’m too tired to cook’ isn’t good enough when making a salad for dinner because it doesn’t take much effort at all! It helps with the energy you’re lacking and makes you feel much better than if you were to order out.

Pretty much I’m writing this post to convince myself that I should eat more salads for dinner. πŸ™‚

Here’s a little salad I made last week in the blink of an eye.

I started out with some baby spinach.

Then a little red pepper.

Some red onions for spice.

Carrots.

Edamame for protein.

A then some salad dressing of choice! With the edamame I’d think a sesame or ginger dressing would be tasty but I went with what we had which was caesar.

We ate the salad with a side of protein banana bread and that’s it! A delicious, super healthy meal in under 10 minutes.

Use whatever veggies and/or fruit you have on hand! Done.

What’s your go-to healthy meal? Do you have a weekly meal that you turn to?

P.S. My sister is posting next! Look out for it. πŸ™‚

9 comments on “yummy: dinner salad

  1. I try to stick to salads for dinner on a daily basis. I make huge ones. Often with eggs, turkey or chicken. Other times I make stir fried veggies with fresh or frozen vegetables. It tastes great with any stir fry sauce. My favorite is Soyaki from Trader Joes.

  2. I tend to make something on Sat or Sun that will last for a few nights during the week – soup, a salad-type dish, etc. Your salad looks so pretty and fresh!

    • Adrienne says:

      I really need to do that but the thing is I get tired of left-overs easily. Course that might not be the case with soups and salads. I’ll have to try it!

  3. Yum!!! I like throwing salads together when I’m feeling lazy- although I feel like I never have what I need on hand! Smoothies are usually my go to lazy dinner!

    I hope you’re having fun in Australia!!

  4. det-res says:

    My husband and I do salads during the day, so at night we want a good fulfilling meal. I am painfully aware this should be the other way around.

comments, questions

