australian animals galore

I’m always hesitant to go to zoos because you never know how small or large the enclosures will be. I get depressed for the guys if I see them in cages that look too small to me but that wasn’t the case at Steve Irwin’s zoo here in Australia!

It isn’t just a zoo but “a team of passionate conservationists working around-the-clock to deliver an animal experience like no other.” So Awesome. Australian hippies. 😉

It was way too cool for me not to show you the pictures ASAP. Lots of fun things went down and I even got to interact with multiple animals!

I took a lot of photos but here are a ton few of my favorites:

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree. A lot of the enclosures were very open so I could get up really close and take photos.

These iguanas are the pigeons of Australia. They aren’t in a zoo exhibit but I took a picture anyway! They also have wild turkeys that wandered about. So different from the US.

I enjoyed this signage. I assume the skull and crossbones means death. See the giant guy behind it?!

I die. I couldn’t even stop myself from baby talk when I saw these Koalas. I made my husband pay $20 so we could get a picture with one! I HELD HIM. His name was Slater and he was very smelly. 🙂

Wombats. Another super cute animal. The zookeepers walk around with them with harnesses on like dogs.

The other girls and I stopped to watch the Irwin family for an unhealthy amount of time. Bindi is all grown up!! We were starstruck.

We didn’t know until we got there but at the Crocodile show the Irwin kids did some shooting for a TV show they’re doing. This isn’t a daily occurrence so we were really lucky to see them feed a dead pig to the Graham the crocodile. As disgusting as it was, it was very cool! Lots of waiting and then violent thrashing.

I was so scared for her!

We got to feed the kangaroos. They are such characters!!

I did this.

And then he decided that the amount of food I gave him wasn’t enough so he grabbed my hand which scared the crap out of me.

After that I hesitantly fed him again only to have my husband say, ‘I want him to grab MY hand!’. Ha.

A little later on another kangaroo snuck up behind me and gave me a little shove. Needless to say I was a little jumpy after that so when we were in the Rain Forest after that and two parrots decided to breeze by my head multiple times I almost cussed in front of some little kids. It was terrifying yet I loved it.

The Wallabies got there turn at the food buffet too.

We went to Africa for an hour where we saw Elephants, Giraffes, Zebras, and a Rhino. We even got to feed an Elephant! I don’t have that photo yet but I’ve been told I have to ‘prove it’ so I’ll post it when I get back.

Such a great time! It’ll be a day I never forget. I love myself some animals.

Toady is ANZAC day so we’re keeping it low key but tomorrow is another adventure so I’m sure you’ll be hearing about it soon.

🙂

4 comments on “australian animals galore

  1. Amy says:

    How absolutely amazing to happen upon the Irwins! And the wallaby (wallabie?) is so cute! This looks like an exceptional zoo!

  2. So cool! Looks like a great way to spend a day.

comments, questions

