easter on parade: a doggy challenge

My ‘big’ girls, Roary and Olivia are my favorite but they each have their own behavioral issues.

Roary is a friendly gal, a little too friendly at times. Last week when we had the ducts cleaned in our house, she decided that the men were intruders, then proceeded to bark at them. This went on for a bit until she realized they would pet and entertain her. Then to get their attention throughout the day there was major tail wagging and when that didn’t suffice, she would jump up on them. I often attempt to train her to stop barking and jumping and she HAS gotten better.

Olivia is the opposite. Every time the men where in a room with her, she’d pace and try to escape as soon as possible. There may have been a few barks in there too but they were more of a ‘please go away, you scare me!’ and not a ‘get out of my house or else!!’.

Belle even barked when the guys came in because she saw Roary doing it! She’s not part of this post, but I thought it was pretty funny/cute.

Al enjoys not smiling in photos, I think it’s a Marine thing.

This past weekend I found out about a pet-friendly event happening in Richmond called Easter on Parade. We took both Roary and Olivia.

I thought it was more of a craft festival with kids games but what we did was ‘parade’ around a giant 4 block circle along with 25,000 other people, some dressed in crazy easter hats and some not. It felt a lot like last weekend at the 10k where I spent most of my time weaving around the slower folks.

All negativity aside, it was a beautiful day and a great learning experience for the girls!

Ha, you can see their personalities in this picture – Olivia looking away from all the scary people and Roary hoping to investigate.

Both Al and I were nervous about how each dog would react to THAT many people. Neither of them had been in a similar situation before so we kept the training light, letting them do what they wanted, but still keeping their leashes short. Surprising they both did great! I’m a proud mama.

Olivia got skittish once in a while, especially if there were loud noises. We had to take two detours around a drummer and also a band because she wouldn’t move. If you remember where she started when we first got her, you know this is an amazing achievement!

Roary also did well. She just took it all in attempting to sniff. Only two times did she lunge (not in an aggressive way) at someone or something that she really wanted to interact with.

Towards the end of the walk we took a break in the shade to let the girls cool off a bit. They calmly sniffed as they watched lots of dogs, people, and a transvestite (?) walk by them.

I’m glad to know that we are on the right track with these girls. We love them so much!!

It was a nice little Easter Sunday.

What did you do this Easter? Any dog training? 😉

4 comments on “easter on parade: a doggy challenge

  1. Haha so I TRIED To go to the Easter parade, but it was like so crazy packed that there was no way I was going to be able to track down my friend I was supposed to meet! I Tried for like 30 minutes and then kind of gave up and spent the rest of the afternoon on a friends porch, drinking tea and enjoying the sunshine 🙂 Not a bad fall back I supposed!

    Lets hang out soon!!!!

    • Adrienne says:

      Haha, well we walked by a lot of people hanging out on their porches. I was longing for some shade!

      Yes!! I have to work late this week but maybe Friday?

  2. angelika05 says:

    Our little rescue shephard mix Sally is so OVERLY friendly it is not even funny. She just loves everyone – people, dogs, cats…hell, we live in Colorado and if a bobcat came in our backyard she would probably think ‘FRIEND” and try to instigate a game of fetch or chase. She’s a jumper too…but getting better. I don’t want to break her loving spirit, but she’s going to stick her face in the wrong dog’s mouth one of these days, and then Sally’s going to be Half-Faced Sally.

comments, questions

