yummy: fettuccine with creamy red pepper-feta sauce

When I make a pasta dish it usually entails cooking whatever pasta I have in the pantry and then heating up a jar of sauce… in the microwave. I’m a 26 year old grown woman. I should probably venture out into the vast world of Italian cuisine.

The other day I turned to Ellie Krieger to help me. I found this dish and decided to give it a try.

I had a notion that pasta sauces took forever. This one proved me wrong!

The prep work took all of 10 minutes. Sweet.

Using jarred roasted red peppers saves so much time or at least I would think so. I’ve never roasted red peppers but my mom has! I find that impressive.

My smiley faces are getting few and far between in these food posts. You can see the one in the picture above right? I get a kick out of it every time. It’s the little things in life, ha. This post also features one.

After the prep, the sauce took shape quickly with a little sauteing.

And a little food processing.

I never know if I should attempt to multitask while cooking.

Cooking the pasta while making the sauce seemed too scary at the time so I boiled it after the sauce was done.

Ooh la la! I broke out the china for this dish. That’s how good it was. Creamy with the veggies built right in!

Do you have a go-to homemade sauce that you make? I’d love to be able to make some on the weekend and then use it for a weeknight dinner.

6 comments on “yummy: fettuccine with creamy red pepper-feta sauce

  1. Oh my gosh that looks SO good!!! The closest I come to making sauce, usually, is just throwing a jar of ragu in a pot and then adding a bunch of random seasonings!! Haha it usually turns out ok 🙂 this sauce looks great though!!

  2. trixfred30 says:

    My go to sauce is similar but I can get a bit carried away if cooking with wine – you know – bit slap dash with the worcestershire sauce, too much red wine – that kind of thing!

  3. My dad makes the best pasta sauce…I eat it straight out of the container! It’s everything fresh from his garden–toms, peppers, zucs, onion, garlic, basil.

comments, questions

