flowers & fighting

Flowers get me so excited about spring. I love watching everything grow. Even my husband has noticed and comments daily on some bulbs that have randomly popped up in our backyard, ‘I can’t believe how fast they’re growing!’.

Like January 1st when I started this blog, the springtime is another fresh, new beginning. So great.

Unfortunately for many of us, new growth outdoors comes with sinus pain, sneezing, and lots of tissues. Bah, humbug.

I’ve had four years of allergy shots so you’d think I’d be immune to pollen and whatnot but with this crazy-warm winter and predictions of ‘the worst allergy season yet’, this season is already proving that I’m not.

On Saturday morning I woke up with a sore throat. Then on Sunday it was much worse. I battled the dang sore throat as well as major aches all day long while sulking on the couch.

Not until today did I realize that this sickness was from allergies and not the flu. My car was covered in pollen this morning and it sits in a carport! I also witnessed a pollen tornado in the middle of road. Yikes.

I’ve got to fight these allergies hard because I’m going to be pretty disappointed if I’m sick for the 10k next weekend. I must run like the wind!! I don’t think I’d be able to do that with a throbbing sinus headache.

Since I’m sure some of you are also struggling, I thought I’d tell you what I’ve been doing to get over this thing quick!

1. Stay Inside
I’m attempting to stay inside and away from the pollen as much as I can. I don’t think my old house has a great filtering system so who knows if staying inside is helping but at least I’m sitting near my plug-in air filter. If you do have to head out, the article linked in the beginning of this post mentions not going outside until the afternoon when the pollen has settled.

Right outside my kitchen window I have these gorgeous azaleas that taunt me. Every time I open the door (to the right of them) to let the dogs out, I get a twinge in my sinus headache and I run back inside defeated.

2. Liquids
I don’t know how many times I’ve heard from my mom, ‘Drink more water!’ when I’m sick. So per her instructions, I am upping the liquids to flush out any bad stuff that I can.

3. Tea
The past couple days I’ve been drinking a variety pack of teas from Traditional Medicinals called Seasonal Herb. I don’t know if it’s all in my head but I’ve gotta tell you that i think these teas work better than anything else for relief! The pain goes away almost instantly. It comes back after a while but it’s nice for a time.

4. Fruits and Veggies
I’ve been slacking in the veggie and fruit department lately so I blame myself for the pollen getting to me. If I was eating lots of them, maybe I wouldn’t have gotten sick! I’ve fixed that mistake and am now getting in all those micronutrients to help me heal faster.

5. Saline Flush
Sometimes you’ve just gotta do it. No mater how gross you (I) think it is. Today I’ve been using the Simply Saline Mist but you can always go big and get a Neti Pot to get all that pollen out of your nose. Yum.

6. Drugs
If all else fails or I need more help, I’ll take some allergy medicine and pain killers. I’d rather not but goodness is a sinus headache uncomfortable or what?!

———-

I just realized that 3 out of the 6 things that I listed should be done on a regular basis! I regularly exercise but that isn’t enough when taking care of your body. Gotta keep up those good habits! #mmm

So this morning I didn’t want to get out of bed. I was afraid that I was even more sick. Much to my surprise the aches were gone and the sore throat was better! My sinuses are still bothering me but I’m going to keep up my regime until I’m well again (but stick with the water, tea, fruits, and veggies as I should).

Roary seems to be the only person/animal in the household that isn’t affected by the pollen… yet! Lucky duck.

Do you have any tips or tricks for getting over allergies or a cold? Any natural remedies?

8 comments on “flowers & fighting

  1. elisariva says:

    Sorry you aren’t feeling well! I must admit, my Neti Pot is the bomb. Worth the experience. As for natural. Old remedies – oregano oil is a strong natural anti-viral. Whole Foods carries it in capsule form. It is very hot, so take the capsule! I take one twice a day for two or three days as soon as I feel something coming on. Feel better!

  2. I take a probiotic everyday which I feel helps with keeping healthy & balanced!

  3. Those flowers are so pretty! It’s a bummer that they cause allergies for so many people! My boyfriend claims he has a cold.., but I’m pretty sure its allergies! (He refuses to believe he has allergies, haha)

    We haven’t tried a lot of natural remedies, but green tea seemed to help!

    Oh and he also things Siracha clears his head 😉

  4. I use a lot of those remedies for my allergies. Unfortunately 5 years of allergy shots only helped me when I was getting them and there power has since worn off.
    The Neti Pot is very helpful and I use it when I get bad colds as well. When my allergies are at their worst I just take a Zyrtec-D because it is the only thing that will relieve my stuffiness. It’s expensive to take everyday though and also has some strange side effects for me (i.e. I make sure not to drink coffee or any other super caffeinated beverages or drink alcohol)
    Another thing I’ve heard is that you should incorporate natural local honey into your diet. It can help to get some of the natural pollens from bees in you system! I think its worth a shot.

    • Adrienne says:

      I’m taking Zyrtec too but I’m not sure if it’s D, I’ll have to check. I’ve heard that about the honey. It makes sense! I’ll have to try and hunt some down. That stinks that you were on allergy shots for 5 years and still have troubles too! I do think I’m a lot less sick overall though, not sure about you. Thanks for the info!

comments, questions

