second chance

I meant to write yesterday per my Monday, Tuesday, Thursday schedule but a little something (or someone) got in the way this week.

Let me start by telling you about my new job. I’ve been working as a Veterinary Assistant for about a month now and I love it. Along with simple tasks like a ton of cleaning and stocking, I get to play work with animals all day, help with labs, bloodwork, prescriptions, x-rays, ultrasounds and probably some other stuff that I can’t think of right now. Remember my blog’s tagline about helping others? At this job I get to help (yay!) and learn about fun medical stuff that I’ve always been interested in. I believe I’ve found a winner.

No need to jump the gun but we’ve already had talks of me going back to school to become a Veterinary Technician! Of course I’m still it that ‘honeymoon’ phase with my new job so I’ll give it some time before I plan my next move.

My new career is already much more fulfilling than my old one so I’m making progress!

———-

Back to that ‘little something’ that I mentioned at the beginning of the post.

On Tuesday I got to witness just how much Veterinarians can help animals. I was assisting my doctor in an appointment for a possible euthanasia. This was my first euthanasia so I expected a very sick, old dog with very sad parents. That’s not what we found.

Between a lot of laughter and jokes, the owners complained about how the dog would always cry, couldn’t walk well and often had accidents in the house. Oh and that she possibly had cancer. They then said that they were moving and couldn’t deal with having to stop every couple hours (on the drive to the new state) to let the dog go to the bathroom <- I found this comment odd since it’s not a reason to kill a dog. The whole situation just didn’t sit right with me.

After the parents left the room and we were alone with the dog, the doctor decided to put her on the floor to see if she could walk. She had already been eating treats out of my hand during the appointment, (not looking like a dog near death) so he wanted to test her out. The dog walked slow since she was 14 but pretty well!! It was crazy to see her move easily since her owners said she usually had a tough time.

The doctor decided that he just couldn’t go through with it. There was no eminent reason to put her down. In the end the owners gave the dog over to the clinic and in turn we saved her life!

Enter Belle, formerly known as Taco. (Get it?? The name wasn’t my idea but I think it’s pretty great.)

She is currently sitting beside me on MY couch in MY home. Yep, we’re testing her out… and she’s a chihuahua! Baha. Her small size is why she can be 14 and still have a few years on her.

We’re going to keep her for a week to see if she meshes well with the family. At the moment I feel that it might be better for her to be with a family where there’s someone at home with her all the time. We’re a very active family so maybe an older couple would be a better match for a slower-paced dog? I’m trying to keep an open mind though! Either way, the clinic that I work at will make sure she finds a good home. I love my job.

It appears that her previous owners spoiled her rotten and maybe even carried her everywhere which is common for such a small breed. I say this because she sometimes sounds like a dying piglet when she’s left alone (all night!) or wants to be picked up. It’s not pleasant. I think they would come to her aid every time she made a peep so she has learned that crying is the best way to get what she wants. Not in this house though! She’ll learn in time… I hope.

Oh and all the issues her old owners talked about? None have been true except for the crying. It was amazing to find that her bloodwork came back negative – no cancer, no diabetes, no nothing. The little lady has a pretty bad heart murmur and really bad teeth (AND BREATH, yikes) but that’s it! She hasn’t had any accidents and during her second night here she only woke up twice to scream cry. Not to shabby for a dog that was supposed to be euthanized. Every time i see her walk or sometimes RUN, I shake my head in disbelief at how someone would even consider putting down their dog of 14 years even though it was fine. So sad.

I feel like this post is one big opinionated vent but I have to tell you, my best friend was in a situation where it was best for her to re-home her dog and it worked out wonderfully! The dog is now in a loving home and both of them are happy. I think that’s the best way to go in these types of situations.

Yay for second chances!!

———-

Oh and if you’re wondering, we will still be fostering a dog even if Belle joins the family. πŸ™‚

And even though I now have a direction towards a more fulfilling career, my husband and I will still be volunteering at various places because we enjoy the experience and helping others.

Do you plan on volunteering this weekend?

12 comments on “second chance

  1. Yeah! I’m so glad the pup is getting a second chance. My dog Kostas was surrendered by his first family on his 1st birthday – they said he was too big, too energetic, etc. I feel fortunate that I’m his forever person!

    • Adrienne says:

      My first dog was surrendered by her first owners because she was too energetic also! She’s the best dog ever! I might have to stalk your blog to look for dog photos now. πŸ™‚

  2. amanda says:

    Nice storytelling – I had no idea where that was going! Maybe I haven’t been paying close enough attention πŸ™‚ I’m so proud of your HUGE heart ❀ I'm kinda surprised Al is handling this journey with you so well. Love you!

  3. elisariva says:

    What a wonderful thing to do! I am a small dog owner and just love them. Belle has found a new home! (Any dogs named Edward in your future?)

  4. Kaitlin says:

    Awww, Belle looks like such a sweet little punkin! I fostered a chihuahua once and he was just as spunky at 10 as you would have expected out of a 2 year old. He lived six more years with his adoptive family. Ah, the joys of little dogs… πŸ™‚

  5. angelika05 says:

    So amazing! I’m so glad I found your blog. We’ve taken in a lot of “hopeless” animals and they always turn out to be the absolute BEST!

  6. Adrienne says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog and I am hooked! I like to daydream about working at a Vet office… recently I have been thinking about some sort of career change. I’m so glad to read your experience! It is really inspiring to read about someone else following their passion. Thank you for sharing, I’ll be poring through the old posts about your career choice. Not only do we share the same name but I am also an “INFJ”. It was nice to read of some the career options you posted earlier πŸ˜‰

    • Adrienne says:

      Yes! Another INFJ! If animals are you passion it’s definitely a great choice, it’s very entertaining and rewarding. Hope you like the other posts too!

comments, questions

