yummy: caramelized onions and sun-dried tomato pizza

When I remember how easy it is to make pizza, it becomes my go-to weeknight dinner dish. I LOVE pizza, people. When asked as a kid what my favorite food was, I’m almost positive I would say pizza and not candy! Shocker right?

Oh and speaking of candy, I haven’t faltered on Operation NO CANDY yet! Go me.

This recipe isn’t from any of my favorite food bloggers and it isn’t new but it’s been a long, long while since we’ve made a healthy pizza here at home so I thought I’d show you how easy it is!

ingredients

  • pizza crust – 365 Organic Pizza Crusts, Whole Wheat
  • sauce of choice – Newman’s Own Marinara
  • olive oil – Bertolli Extra Virgin
  • sun-dried tomatoes – Jacobs Farm Sun-dried Tomato Organic
  • red onions
  • cheese of choice – Cabot Hot Habanero Cheddar & Sharp Cheddar
  • red pepper flakes  – 365 Crushed Red Chili Peppers (These are always a requirement on my pizza slices. Right family?)

To start I caramelized the onions in a little bit of olive oil over medium-high heat. It took me about 10 minutes.

Next my sister spread the sauce on the pizza crust. I did buy a store bought crust but I hope to tackle homemade dough some time in the future. I have a great time baking bread so pizza dough shouldn’t be too different.

Then we added the cheese. This time it was the leftover habanero from this recipe and sharp cheddar. Maybe one day I’ll actually stick to the ‘right’ ingredients! I promise it tasted great though.

Once the caramelized onions were done, we added them as well as the sun-dried tomatoes.

Into the oven at 400 degrees for 12 minutes. And tada! Crispy, cheesy, salty perfection.

Add a little salad to the plate and you’ve got a pretty well balanced meal.

This is such a great dish because you can easily change up the ingredients and get lots of different results! In this house we like adding turkey pepperoni, garlic, green peppers, and try different cheeses and sauces.

I’m thinking I should always have the ingredients on hand so when we have that Saturday night craving for pizza we can spend a lot less money on a much healthier dish!

I don’t know if you noticed but I forgot to hide a smiley face in my last recipe post so there are two in this one! Can you find them? If you don’t know what the heck I’m talking about then Hi! Nice to meet you new reader! You can find info about the face obsession here.

Do you have any healthy go-to meals or favorites?

6 comments on “yummy: caramelized onions and sun-dried tomato pizza

  1. elisariva says:

    My healthy go-to is my George Forman Grill. It cooks a frozen piece of chicken or fish in 10 minutes or less. Not as creative and yummy as pizza though! Hmmmm, I have whole wheat pizza dough in the freezer. You have given me a good idea. Thanks!

  2. Mmmmmmmm! Pizza. I could eat pizza every night. Lately I’m on a salad-on-pizza kick.
    My healthy go-to meal is usually a baked sweet potato, sauteed spinach, a little bit of veggie chili, 1/2 an avocado and a whole lot of green salsa.

comments, questions

