i heart art

I lucked out BIG time. My last day at my current job is this Friday because I got a NEW one already!

Since this is a major change in my life, I thought I’d talk a little about the past – how I got to my current career and how I’ll be continuing certain aspects of it.

A reflection, if you will.

Growing up I was often creating. I even entered my art into contests at the ripe old age of 10! Hardcore. I tried everything from cross-stitch to pastels and loved it all. Note: my mom STILL has a few kitchen cabinets packed with all things arts and crafts. Let’s hope the grandchildren (no, I’m not pregnant) will be able to use up those supplies!

odd, old school art projects

I took a fun art class in high school and then one in college that really pushed me towards art as my focus. Well, that’s not exactly true. I majored in chemistry but that’s another story we don’t need to get into! I guess what those art classes did was just confirm passion and maybe (subconsciously) open my eyes a little to my options.

After leaving chemistry and then computer science in college, I settled on graphic design. I chose design because I loved computers and I loved art. Do a little math to add the two together and ta-da, you’ve got graphic design.

In school I was in heaven. Three hours of an afternoon sculpture class? Yes please! Three hours of a graphic design class? Yes please! Three hours of a 7:00 am drawing class with a naked human contorting in front of you? Eh, not so much. I have to say, it’s a good thing my husband never took a class like that. I would have never met him because he’d be dead after giggling for three hours straight. 🙂

college projects - painting, design, & photography

Now I have a design job and you’d think it’d be ideal but I’ve come to realize that I enjoy creating art specifically and not design (as much). It’s more personal and you can do whatever you want!

I should have come to this conclusion a while ago because I have a massive collection of personal paintings, prints, and photographs at my house. These are the culmination of many years of random urges to do art any day of the week. Family members can attest to me forcing them into doing projects with me. Right Mom? Sister? Husband?

So since I’m changing careers to a completely different field, I thought I’d continue my art and open an Etsy shop! Makes sense right? Now (hopefully) all of the pieces will end up in loving homes and not in a giant heap on my living room floor! I’m a genius.

texture, texture, and more texture

This won’t happen over night since I’ll be creating/selling a new series or two and I’d like to build up the inventory but it’s exciting nonetheless!

I have lots of big changes and projects on my plate. It’ll be interesting to see how I juggle it all but I’m up for the challenge. I’m on my way to a fulfilling career and life. Stay tuned!

8 comments on “i heart art

  1. det-res says:

    Exciting.. I am going to know someone famous!!!. Good luck..:)

  2. Amanda says:

    I don’t have enough ARJ originals! I have a stockpile of mini canvases, brushes and oil paints but I’m afraid to waste them because I don’t know what I’m doing and fear my attempt at bold bright shapes will end up a canvas of brown. My POINT is that I want to paint with you someday!

  3. You are so crafty!!! I’m jealous! Lately I’ve had the bug to be craftier but it isn’t always working out the way I want it to 😉

    • Adrienne says:

      That’s the thing about painting, if you don’t like what you’ve made just paint over it! I’ve done it plenty of times. 🙂 Motivation is my problem though! I’ve been here in Richmond 2.5 months and haven’t even started the crafty projects yet. Soon though.

  4. Lauren says:

    Congrats!! That is awesome! I can’t wait to see your store 🙂

comments, questions

