introversion, intuition, feeling, judging

As you know, this blog is the first step in my search for a new, more fulfilling career. Yesterday was my second step. I put in my four weeks notice at work. GASP!

I have no job lined up yet but I just had to do it. It’s really tough to take a leap of faith but if I hadn’t done it yesterday then I probably would have stuck around for a couple more months or even longer. That wouldn’t be good – not for me or my husband’s happiness.

I personally love change but the unknown is scary AND having to tell my bosses what I was doing made me want to barf. Seriously all morning before the meeting all I could think to myself and type to my great friend Katie was ‘Barf!’ or ‘I want to Barf!’. It pains me to bring stress or trouble to other people’s lives so even though this decision is going to make me happier and healthier I was still worrying about the workload I’d leave and the people that would have to take it on. I want to help not hurt. This, I think, is a good example of my personality and brings me to a little research I did.

I needed reassurance for this big career change so I explored online and found this personality test. The test gives you results based on the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. So I am a INFJ – introversion, intuition, feeling, judging.

16 personality types

With a little more googling I found these shenanigans about my personality type (found here):
INFJs, making up an estimated 1% of all people, are the most rare type (males even more so). They are introspective, caring, sensitive, gentle and complex people that strive for peace and derive satisfaction from helping others. INFJs are highly intuitive, empathetic and dedicated listeners. These traits tend to act as a “tell me what’s wrong” sign on their forehead, hence the nicknames Confidant, Counselor or Empath. INFJs are intensely private and deeply committed to their beliefs.

What’s my conclusion from all this? I’m destined to be the next Mother Teresa! OR I definitely should be helping someone or something because that’s what makes me sing!

I should just believe in my gut and trust that I am making the right decision but man did this test make me feel better about my choices. If any of you are looking to change careers and aren’t exactly sure what you might like to do I would definitely check out the websites I linked to above. If you’re curious here are a couple careers I found for my personality. Very interesting!

  • Clergy / Religious Work
  • Teachers
  • Medical Doctors / Dentists
  • Alternative Health Care Practitioners, i.e. Chiropractor, Reflexologist
  • Psychologists
  • Psychiatrists
  • Counselors and Social Workers
  • Musicians and Artists
  • Photographers
  • Child Care / Early Childhood Development

These results are funny because many of the careers on this list I’ve already considered or done.

Here’s to heading in the right direction!

5 comments on “introversion, intuition, feeling, judging

  1. Tahia says:

    Your feelings totally resonate with me. I quit my job 6 months ago and the way you describe your experience of giving notice was exactly how I felt at that time. I literally felt sick to my stomach. But now things are so much better – still a lot of unknowns but I’m learning to deal with the unknown and the adventure of life with a lot more grace! I commend you on your chosen path to follow your gut…it takes a lot of courage!

  2. Parita says:

    I don’t even know you, and I’m proud of you for taking this step. Trust me, I know it’s hard to tell your managers and co-workers that you’re leaving, but sometimes you have to think about you. That’s the ENTJ in me coming out! I can only imagine the feelings you went through when making this decision, but if there’s anything I believe it’s that when you follow your heart with pure intentions, you can do no wrong! 🙂

comments, questions

