olivia – week 1

Olivia has now been with us for a whole week! I thought everyone would like to hear about her progress so here ya go – a couple of random tidbits.

socializing
The day after we got her we took her to the dog park. I thought it’d be a good idea since she probably hadn’t had the freedom to roam and play in years. She was pretty scared of all the commotion and dogs but I think she enjoyed smelling everything and running a bit. Hopefully tomorrow when I take her she’ll interact with the dogs a little more.

Even after a day I could tell she was already more comfortable with me. Multiple times she would run away in the park to smell and then run right back. It totally made my heart melt.

olivia running back to me

 

look at those hound eyes!

 

food
Since she’s super shy the main issue of the week was making her eat. The first thing I got her to take was some cheese and a dog treat. Then, I finally emailed BARK after 3 days of no meals and they told me to use wet dog food which definitely did the trick! Ah, mommy relief.

walking
Again with the timidness. At the beginning of the week it was walk ten feet then freeze from fear or pull so hard that I’d almost face plant. The fear I would ignore until she started walking again but the pulling was a different approach. She would get too scared when I’d try to ‘bite’ her or snap her leash (the cesar way) to correct the issue so instead I would stop and not move until she backed up and loosened the pull. This teaches her that if she doesn’t pull she gets to keep walking. Multiple times I stood there like a weirdo in the street for what felt like 10 minutes but it didn’t matter. It was for the good of the dog. It even helped Roary with her patience and pulling too! <- added bonus.

potty training
Pretty much every day we’ve had an accident inside the house so to potty train her this week I have frequently spent 10-25 minutes of my life shivering in my slippers and parka waiting semi-patiently for her to pee outside. As of now I think I have only given up 2 or 3 times! Success.

roary & playing
Roary is one hyper pup. Hyper pup + Chill hound = well not too much. Olivia has had a couple bouts of playfulness that are SUPER exciting but she doesn’t play with Roary just yet. She just ignores the craziness.

Oh but my sister told me that she picked up a toy today! She didn’t seem to know what to do with toys earlier in the week so this news is awesome. I might just die if she runs after something that I throw. To dream!

the husband
The toughest thing about Olivia is not her issues but that I have to do most of the training on my own because she’s too scared of my husband at the moment. We wouldn’t want her to go back into her shell and never come out so once she’s improved and isn’t scared of him we’ll introduce him back into the training.

at the park

I think she has made great progress so far. I can’t wait to see how much more she will improve in the next week!

Sidenote: Tomorrow I’ll be volunteering at a new place so check back in to see how it goes!

P.S. don’t worry about Roary! She’s still my best buddy and is spoiled rotten.

4 comments on “olivia – week 1

  1. Gretchen says:

    Hey, so glad you found me so I could find you. We will have to share tidbits on all the little quirks and behavioral difference in our rescued/foster dogs. We have three we have rescued off the streets (literally) and four dogs total. I also got us into fostering a mama and her puppies when we lived in Alabama, and I worked part-time at the humane. I look forward to following your blog and your adventures fostering and job hunting. Good luck with both!

    • Adrienne says:

      Yes! I’m so glad also! That’s wonderful that you’ve fostered so many dogs. I hope to foster another one this year. It’s such a rewarding experience. Thanks for the luck!

  2. globeriders says:

    Love your posts about the dogs. I miss having my own pup, will hopefully get one (quite possibly adopt one) in the end of this year.
    Feel free to check out my travel blog http://globeriders.wordpress.com

comments, questions

