the job hunt

How in the world do I convince people that I truly want to change careers? My gut is telling me this is what I need to do is that not good enough?

Yesterday afternoon I had a job interview for a great non-profit. I was super excited because I really thought I was going to get it – I even have the same alma mater as the interviewer, that’s always a plus! But it didn’t go very well or at least I’m pretty sure it didn’t. The woman wasn’t convinced that a person with a Masters in Fine Arts would truly want to completely change careers, get paid way less, and work part-time. But I DO, I REALLY do! I even explained how I was going to keep making art on the side while working at her company. That way I still get to help people and create – my two loves. Alas, I couldn’t say anything to wipe the disappointed (?) look on her face.

Depressing. I came home after my 10 minute interview and then sat on my pretty bay window and cried while the dogs stared at me. I was just so excited to get out of a job that pains me and be free to pursue my other passions. I know I know, this sounds SUPER dramatic but I’ve been wanting out of this job for a while now so to be so close yet so far is a total bummer. Ah, the ups and downs of the hunt.

I’m going somewhere with this venting don’t you worry.

After stuffing my face and getting over my sad self I felt a little better. And after a semi-good nights sleep I felt MUCH better. It’s a brand new day. There are new jobs to hunt and more connections to be made. I applied to another job today and decided on which volunteer opportunity I’ll be taking part in this weekend. Everyone loves a plan!

I just need to stay focused on my goals and stick with the plan. If I waiver one day I can jump back on route the next. Eventually it’ll all work out the way it should. That sounds convincing, right??

A little interpretation of this post for your viewing pleasure:

4 comments on “the job hunt

  1. det-res says:

    Good luck. Follow your passion. Nothing else will keep you going. I like plans, but I am finding it so hard to stick to mine.

  2. Megan says:

    I’m going through a similar transition in my life. Keep your head up! It’s a really stressful time. Just keep doing what you’re doing and continuously moving forward – trust me, you’ll get there eventually, even if it doesn’t happen as quickly as you would like. And keep doing other things that make you happy along the way. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

comments, questions

