volunteering – day 1.5

So I didn’t volunteer today. Why you ask? Meet Olivia!!

olivia

Olivia is a hound from BARK that we are now fostering. My husband and I picked her up this morning!

As you know I have major love for beagles or any hounds for that matter sooooo last weekend when we did our initial walkthrough around the kennels I saw Olivia. She was in a kennel with two other dogs. While the other two were going nuts she was in the back curled up and terrified. I felt so bad for her! She just looked so miserable.

After interacting with most of the dogs out there on the farm I still felt the need to help Olivia so once we were done doing the dirty work I asked the foster coordinator about her. The coordinator said she had been at BARK for 14 months and before that she was with a different rescue! Depressing. Supposedly she’s almost 5 years old – who knows what her previous years had been like.

I told the coordinator that I was going to put in an application to foster and then did that afternoon. A BARK volunteer came over for a home visit on Wednesday and said I was good to go. Waiting 3 whole days was painful. I was too excited to get her out of there. Seriously earlier today I felt like a kid on Christmas morning!

Once we got to the farm my husband started collecting all her supplies while I sat with Olivia and waited. She was too scared to move much and her tail was tucked severely. Little did she know that her luck was changing!

We were told to take Roary and Olivia on a walk together before going in the house so when we got home that’s what we did. Again, she was too scared to move and get out of the truck so I helped her through it. After that the walk went pretty well and the girls seemed to get alone just fine. Roary wanted to play at first then finally cooled off while Olivia just darted back and forth to smell.

the first walk

the girls

After the walk and some yard work outside I walked in and found the following extreme cuteness. I DIE.

new buddies

I really struggled to write this post. This day has washed away any doubts I had about leaving a career I went school for to find a more fulfilling path.

I’m just so very glad I’ve been able to give a sweet dog a loving new life. It brings me to tears!

P.S. Olivia will be our first ‘foster failure’, I’m sure of it. 🙂

4 comments on “volunteering – day 1.5

  1. RunRideLove says:

    I love this! I adopted my hound because she was the only pup in the shelter not barking at me. It was love at first sight.

    • Adrienne says:

      Was she pretty shy at first too? I can’t wait to see what Olivia is like once she opens up. As soon as I saw the picture of your hound I showed it to my husband – so cute. I love their expressions!

  2. Amanda says:

    You are going to adopt her, right?!?

comments, questions

