ahh, yoga

I started practicing yoga about 3 years ago. I played sports all my life but yoga for me is about my mental state, the physical strength I gain is just a plus. Last new years (2010) I made a resolution to practice some sort of yoga/meditation/stretching 3 times a week. Sometimes it was only 5 minutes and sometimes it was an hour-long class. Either way I succeeded and it kept me in a present, happy state of mind (MOST of the time at least).

Even though I’ve kept up my resolution, I didn’t take any full classes in the past two weeks during my break from work. Combined with the amount of cookies I ate, it was not a great combo for my return back to the real world. Why oh why do I do this to myself? I tossed and turned for hours on end last night dreading the day.

As I lay there in bed I realized that I had run a 5k on Sunday but I hadn’t stretch since! My hips were killing me. With my husband snoring away next to me I maneuvered my way into a half-reclining hero pose (the pose below but with one leg out in front). I think I even laughed to myself because of how silly I felt but hey. I took the time to really breathe into the joints on each leg. It still took some more focused breathing and more time for me to fall asleep but man did my hips feel better!

Another plus – I came up with blog topics and found some great companies to follow on twitter which I just joined (@hippieitch). Good times.

Here’s to a good nights sleep tonight and some hatha yoga tomorrow!

comments, questions

